View Full Version : Forklift Restoration

BackTracker
01-22-2012, 12:29 AM
Title should read " forklift restoration" Thanks to the Mods for fixing that one for me!

So I picked this bad boy up a couple days ago for a tidy sum of 1 grand and I cannot find one lick of information about it. Its a Clark forklift model it50n. I popped the "hood" and discovered an old mopar slant six with a cracked radiator looks to be a 225. So I soldered the crack and pressure tested it. I then changed the points and put new plugs and wires on it. I still need to run a compression test. But it ran when I picked it up. I'm trying to find out some info so I can restore and use the thing. Anyone have any ideas? I'm new to lifts, carbs, and mopars. Thanks!!

http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y129/GTsHawaii/5a2f6163.jpg
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y129/GTsHawaii/86917eca.jpg
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y129/GTsHawaii/d08bc9ad.jpg
http://i4.photobucket.com/albums/y129/GTsHawaii/e3bb4054.jpg

Outlawmws
01-22-2012, 12:51 AM
Your going to have to post pics, as the CL ad is gone already...

The slant six should be a good choice for a fork lift. Lots of low end torque, and is a very reliable engine. Surprised to see an engine that long in a fork lift though, I'd have expected a 4 banger. Gas or prop powered?

trboxman
01-22-2012, 01:05 AM

The slant six should be a good choice for a fork lift. Lots of low end torque, and is a very reliable engine. Surprised to see an engine that long in a fork lift though, I'd have expected a 4 banger. Gas or prop powered?

Lots of slant 6s in old Clark forklifts.

BackTracker
01-22-2012, 01:26 AM
Pics Posted.

Does anyone know anything about this "slant 6" business. Sorry, it's before my time...

it would appear that there is a massive crack in the header and it's a common problem from my reading//googling skills. I'm not having any luck finding a replacement however.

Also, any suggestions for types of paint that can handle the rigors of forklift duty.