View Full Version : Is it OK to use copper tubing for transmission cooler lines?

Nealcrenshaw
02-17-2009, 01:13 AM
I know its easier to bend. Would it suffice? Or should i just use steel tubing.I'm going to replace them soon.

autoace
02-17-2009, 01:33 AM
Use steel tubing, copper my work, but I have never seen it used...the flares may be too soft with copper. depending on what the car is(most trans. lines are high pressure hose and steel line) the original equipment can be real cheap.

Nealcrenshaw
02-17-2009, 01:36 AM
How do you feel about fuel lines with copper? I know brakes are out of the questions w/copper.I appreciate the PM you sent the other day as well.

autoace
02-17-2009, 02:03 AM
How do you feel about fuel lines with copper? I know brakes are out of the questions w/copper.I appreciate the PM you sent the other day as well.

I wouldn't use copper for fuel line either, why? since I am a professional, I abide by "industry standards", and copper is not used. I've never discussed why they don't use it? It has not come up. With the exception of "hot rods" all vehicles need to have OEM repairs period, and for inspection purposes. If it is an aftermarket part on a street legal vehicle is need a C.A.R.B. exemption number, or other DOT approval, etc...depends on type of part.

A case in point (the thread about oil drain valves)they void a new car warranty, and no liable professional would use them on customer cars, so in my book they don't belong on a car. Now what people do to their own cars, is "kind of their business" provided it passes inspection.

autoace
02-17-2009, 02:13 AM
^^^
Remember Copper has a free electron in its outer shell,it conducts an electrical charge very well because of this, probably a simple reason it is not used anywhere on car plumbing. A bad ground somewhere and dangerous paths of current could flow where you don't want them to. I know steel is also a conductor, but no where near the affectiveness of Cu-

nissan_crawler