View Full Version : Deconstruction Advice Needed (With Pictures)

Nova
04-01-2009, 12:33 PM
I have finally stopped procrastinating and decided that this is the year I pursue what I have wanted in the worst way for about 10 years now. The stars have aligned, so to speak, and between being forced to used my accumulated holidays, the Canadian government offering the home renovation tax credit, and having saved enough over winter to start on the project......now is the time.

I intend for all aspects of this project to have minimal "professional" help required (aside from the cement), to keep the project low budget and basically get as much out of my dollar as I can. That said, I have a lot of knowledgeable, skilled, experienced family and friends at my disposal. But the experience tends to be geared more towards the construction aspects. And as with a lot of builds, before we construct, we must destruct.

A typical garage wouldn't even phase me. Heck, I'd even tackle it myself. This situation isn't quite that simple. What must come down is a tall "barnish" type building that is about 90 years old, and it is the roof removal that I need input on. If I knew of somebody local who had a picker (or crane) that I could borrow it would really make the project easy. Unfortunately, if I were to go that route I would be calling somebody in from out of town and probably be stuck paying between $150-200 an hour or more, likely with a minimum of 2 hours travel time. Not the way I want the project to start.

So I've posted pictures to show what I am up against. I am thinking my best bet may be to tear the shingles off, start on the inside at the top and disassemble it board by board. But as always, any advice or reccomendations would be appreciated as I really want to get it down on the cheap, but still in a safe and efficient way.

mrb
04-01-2009, 12:41 PM
if its not all rotted, youve probably got a few bucks worth of reclaimed lumber there...

rickairmedic
04-01-2009, 12:41 PM