View Full Version : Pinstriping?

agoogol
07-23-2009, 01:43 PM
I have been admiring pinstriping quite bit on different cars at show, and would like to get ito it myself.

Where should I start?

drabe
07-23-2009, 02:41 PM
I've been pinstriping for a little over 6 or 8 months, there are a lot of good sites out there on this subject (Sketchkult, Rocky Burris, etc...).
Check out the HAMB and do a search on 'pinstriping', also look up Skratch and Unkl Ian they are the two most prominent 'stripers on the HAMB (although there are many others).

I studied the subject quite a bit before I even picked up a brush. I started practicing on a piece of glass (from an old storm door I had). Rocky has several 'drill sheets' that you can tape onto the backside of the glass and practice making straights, curves, etc...
I've 'graduated' to other things now though (I'll post some pics in an album soon).

I've been buying most of my supplies from Eastwood.com (just bought some 1-shot paints from them this week). Probably best to start with a Mack 0 or 00 brush but I recently bought a Kafka 0 brush and it quickly became my favorite (all of these are available thru Eastwood). If you sign up with them, you'll get email 'exclusives' like 10 to 25% off. You probably can't save that much by buying local (if you can even find a dealer locally).

I use mineral spirits for cleaning the brushes and '3 n 1' oil before storing them, but everyone has their own preference (I used what I had around).
You'll also need lots of paper towels (I prefer the blue ones) for clean up and wiping off mistakes.

I got to talk to Skratch a good while at the Lone Star Roundup this year while he was 'striping a '53 Chevy. I asked him how long he'd been 'striping and he said 'about 15 years', I then asked him how long it was before he didn't suck at it and he said '5 years'.
That being said, don't expect magic overnight and keep at it. You'll only get better with practice!

agoogol
07-23-2009, 04:18 PM