View Full Version : Cleaning up an oil spill

Munich77
11-07-2009, 07:38 PM
My car is in the shop and I got a service loaner which is leaking oil. Since I am kind of new to the whole notion of having a garage, what is the best way to remove an oil stain? I would greatly appreciate any wisdom :bowdown:. On the upside, perhaps now I have a real reason to get garage floor tiles :bounce:

MotoDave
11-07-2009, 07:55 PM
kitty litter does a great job

djd99
11-07-2009, 07:56 PM
soak it up with saw dust or cat litter first then take a degreaser like purple power or simple green with a stiff broom and clean the spot. hi dri also works very well for soaking up spills.

Torque1st
11-07-2009, 07:59 PM
Welcome to GJ. Use oil dry or clay cat litter. Sweep the initial surface oil away with some oil dry etc. Put some more oil dry etc down and grind it into the floor well with your shoe or boot. Sweep the floor again and apply a 50/50 mixture of kerosene and Castrol Super Clean to the area. Wait for a few hours and hose it off.

sstruckguy
11-07-2009, 08:04 PM
I too, have had good luck with saw dust. You do however, need to help the process by tamping/patting the spill.

After the bulk is absorbed, follow with a degreaser type solution to finish the process. (as stated by the other members ) :bounce:

e-tek
11-07-2009, 08:09 PM
All the above are good measures, but unfortunately, it won't be the last time oil is spilled or remedies are tried. I also tried my best - as many do - to keep my new slab new-looking....but now it's just a mish mash of spots where oils and other liquids have spilled, each one a different shade depending on which method I tried to clean up the spill.
I know it's not what you want to hear - but dems the "brakes"....tranny's....engines...

Torque1st
11-07-2009, 08:20 PM
If you have a nice new slab it is best to use a penetrating sealer, not a coating, BEFORE the inevitable spills.:beer:

Munich77
11-07-2009, 09:42 PM