View Full Version : How much should I be spending on a concrete slab

jam92102
02-25-2010, 05:16 PM
Ok, first please forgive my ignorance. I have no knowledge on the difference between concrete and cement. What I'm wanting to do this summer is build a good size shed (around 14x14 or 12x12) and I want it on a concrete/cement foundation so I don't have to worry about animals underneath.

First off what should my floor/foundation be made of and how much roughly should I pay for something like this? I'll be building the shed myself but I have no clue about how to do a foundation. I have to recognize my limits (which is sometimes hard for me to do, lol).

Any round park figure you can give me would be great as I would have no idea if I'm over paying. Thanks all for the help!

Jim

bazzateer
02-25-2010, 05:26 PM
Cement is the grey powder than 'glues' the stones and sand together to form the concrete. If it's just a shed then you should be OK with a 4" slab. Cost? I'm afraid I have no idea in your area.

Zrexxer
02-25-2010, 05:27 PM
Ok, first please forgive my ignorance. I have no knowledge on the difference between concrete and cement.
There are four components in concrete:

1. Water
2. Fine Aggregate (sand)
3. Coarse Aggregate (gravel) and
4. Portland Cement

You can't build anything with cement alone.

02-25-2010, 05:36 PM