View Full Version : garage door frozen shut

billcole
02-05-2011, 06:54 AM
I would like to know what you guys have done to keep the garage doors from freezing shut. I only heat my garage when I work in it and usually water forms at the bottom then overnight it freezes. I would like to stay away from salt because I don't want to hurt the floor, any suggestions.

poppop
02-05-2011, 07:13 AM
Leave the door up a little higher.

nate379
02-05-2011, 07:20 AM
Leave it open a little bit.

JeremyManning
02-05-2011, 07:23 AM
I plug in a trouble light close to the door, also spray the weather stipping with pam helps to not let it stick to the ice

lilredex
02-05-2011, 07:25 AM
At a place I had, there was the same problem. It was an overhead type door, so I put extra holes in the track a couple of inches above the original ones. That way it could be off the ground and still be locked. It worked out OK...........no racoons (or squirrels) around there.

nehog
02-05-2011, 09:09 AM
Spray the rubbers seal with silicone spray? Or any other rubber safe non-stick spray?

Me, I give the door a bit of a kick to break it loose if it is frozen down. Seems to always work.

darkk
02-05-2011, 09:28 AM
Lay a piece of plastic ( or plastic paint tarp ) under the door before you close it...

rquackenbush
02-05-2011, 09:56 AM
I like the "spray the seal with teflon" plan. That way you're still closing the door all the way.

Buckgnarly
02-05-2011, 10:15 AM
Vaseline on mine. no problems since.

rodm1
02-05-2011, 05:07 PM
Silicon and Armor all works OK to.

s_ontario
02-05-2011, 06:33 PM
rub with wax toilet ring...... yes it works

nehog
02-05-2011, 06:50 PM
Silicon and Armor all works OK to.

Only problem with Armor all is that it is too water soluble and needs respraying more often.

Big-Foot
02-21-2013, 07:35 AM