Welcome to the The Garage Journal Board forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   The Garage Journal Board > The Garage > Free Parking

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 03-15-2012, 06:43 AM   #41
Lomotil
Senior Member
 
Lomotil's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: South TX
Posts: 7,988
Default Re: Whats making 97 Crown Vic surge and pour out black smoke??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Bad Dad View Post
I have never seen this style plug before. It has two small electrodes instead of the big center one like most spark plugs.
That's one of those newer "don't have to gap" kinda plugs that are sold nowadays.
__________________
ส็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็็ Cross the line...


Quote:
Originally Posted by grizzlyToolz
call me what ever you like. if i get offended then i shouldn't be online
Lomotil is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-15-2012, 09:07 AM   #42
checkthisout
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 1,684
Default Re: Whats making 97 Crown Vic surge and pour out black smoke??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Bad Dad View Post
this guessing game is gonna get expensive quick! )
It shouldn't. Lots of things are possible so don't shotgun anything else until you do what you just said you were going to do.

I'm out of advice at this point until you can get some scan tool data.

One thing you might want to try that won't cost you anything (except time) is to disconnect the exhaust before the cat and see how it runs.
checkthisout is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 03-18-2012, 03:03 PM   #43
greasemonkey44
Senior Member
 
greasemonkey44's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: memphis
Posts: 1,541
Default Re: Whats making 97 Crown Vic surge and pour out black smoke??

you might try cleaning the maf, and unhooking the battery
beyond that i dont know; impossible to know across the Internet! there are a million things i would check out before replacing parts
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by countryroad82
I don't break tools very often, when I do it is in grand fashion and normally my fault.
greasemonkey44 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 04:29 PM   #44
Tarheelgarage
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: NC
Posts: 3,492
Default Re: Whats making 97 Crown Vic surge and pour out black smoke??

Check air filter.

You might have a family of rats making a home in their since it has been sitting so long..
__________________
"One of the consequences of such notions as "entitlements" is that people who have contributed nothing to society feel that society owes them something, apparently just for being nice enough to grace us with their presence" - Thomas Sowell
Tarheelgarage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-18-2012, 04:59 PM   #45
theoldwizard1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: SE MI
Posts: 11,278
Default Re: Whats making 97 Crown Vic surge and pour out black smoke??

Quote:
Originally Posted by Big Bad Dad View Post
I also listened with to each of the injectors with a mechanic's stethoscope. They were all snapping away like they were working.
Just because they are clicking does not mean that one of them is not leaking.

Quote:
Car is still puffing out the black smoke even after 10 minutes of running. I pulled the plugs, and none were wet. They all had a heavy black coating of soot. I have never seen this style plug before. It has two small electrodes instead of the big center one like most spark plugs.
Well it is still running pig rich. I don't think a bad coolant temp sensor could make it run that rich.
theoldwizard1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:20 PM.