Welcome to the The Garage Journal Board forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   The Garage Journal Board > The Tools > General Tool Discussion

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 05-06-2011, 03:21 PM   #1
muibubbles

Default finishing edges of sheet metal: other then hem roll

I need some help. im new to sheet metal and im looking for a way to finish my edges of my chair (sorry, for more of my chair project). (the shell portion where the seat cushion is recessed in)

I finally figured out a way to roll the edges with the tools i have now but im looking for a more precise way..

right now i just leave excess material ~.5" and then use the brake to bend as far as it goes then use a vice to finish off the bend. the results of the nice round edge is exactly what i was looking for but the method needs some improvements. I also need to bend the metal perpendicular to the edge so I end up with a kink. my only idea to fix this is to cut a little triangle portion out and then weld it after so the seat fabric doesnt get caught. any other suggestions?

Ive also looked into the hem roll die for a bead roller but the cost of those machines are a bit pricey just this minimal task... also in the videos ive seen, it seems to "roll" the sheet metal as well... i need my sheet to stay flat...

(do all bead rolls accept the same dies? or are theyre various sizes depend company?)

some pics of some sample pieces i did...