Welcome to the The Garage Journal Board forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   The Garage Journal Board > The Tools > General Tool Discussion

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-21-2011, 12:00 AM   #1
Ed_EOD
Senior Member
 
Ed_EOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Eielson AFB, AK/Afghanistan
Posts: 580
Default My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

OK, so I got this for $150 today. 1.8hp 30gal 155psi. We plugged it in at the guys house and it built pressure and held it for as long as I was there. Man this thing is quiet, we stood right next to it BSing. Even when I got home it still had the same pressure. The problem is, when I went to flip it on in my garage....nothing. Just a click. What could have gone wrong between my house and his? Also it has a broken gauge and the nozzle in the pic is broken. Are those important?
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0430.jpg (145.6 KB, 77 views)
File Type: jpg IMG_0431.jpg (145.5 KB, 60 views)
Ed_EOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 12:02 AM   #2
mt2marc1
Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Posts: 36
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

Was it loaded on its side or right side up?
mt2marc1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-21-2011, 12:17 AM   #3
Ed_EOD
Senior Member
 
Ed_EOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Eielson AFB, AK/Afghanistan
Posts: 580
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

We had to put it sideways to load it, but it was transported and unloaded standing.
Ed_EOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 12:25 AM   #4
WRX/Z28
Senior Member
 
WRX/Z28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Roebling, NJ
Posts: 680
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

Maybe obvious, but did you pull the release valve until the pressure dropped low enough for the comp to kick back on? If it's holding pressure, it won't turn on just by plugging it in, the tank has to be below 125psi if I remember correctly...
__________________
'91 Z28 Carb'd, cam'd/nitrous'd 355, manual th350 +9"
'89 Formula 350 resto cruiser (pending motor swap)
'99 Z28 LS1 M6 long tubes and 4" exhaust
'97 2wd S-10 parts hauler work truck. 210k and climbing. (to be replaced with a bigger truck)

All garage built/maintained.
WRX/Z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 12:44 AM   #5
Ed_EOD
Senior Member
 
Ed_EOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Eielson AFB, AK/Afghanistan
Posts: 580
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

Yeah its down to about 50psi or so now. Im guessing the brass valve in the front os the release valve, I pulled it with pliers.
Ed_EOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 12:48 AM   #6
WRX/Z28
Senior Member
 
WRX/Z28's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Roebling, NJ
Posts: 680
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

and the off/auto lever/switch is set in the right position?

Try calling the lowes help line? I think there was one on the side of my unit.

Check for power at the outlet? Did it trip the breaker on that circuit? I know my old comp tripped the breaker all the time till I got it on a dedicated circuit...
__________________
'91 Z28 Carb'd, cam'd/nitrous'd 355, manual th350 +9"
'89 Formula 350 resto cruiser (pending motor swap)
'99 Z28 LS1 M6 long tubes and 4" exhaust
'97 2wd S-10 parts hauler work truck. 210k and climbing. (to be replaced with a bigger truck)

All garage built/maintained.
WRX/Z28 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 01:21 AM   #7
darkzero
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 358
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_EOD View Post
Yeah its down to about 50psi or so now. Im guessing the brass valve in the front os the release valve, I pulled it with pliers.
That valve is a safety relief valve (aka PRV), it's purpose is to prevent your tank from turning into a bomb if the pressure switch were to fail as in the contacts getting stuck & not shutting off the motor.

It's best to use the drain at the bottom for releasing pressure so any moisture that has accumilated can be released too. But it is a good idea to pull the safety valve every so often to make sure it's working fine.

Since the hole for the pull ring is broken, if you do decide to replace it, be sure you replace it with the same exact PSI rating as the one you have.

Hope you get it running again. As recommended check the breaker & make sure you don't run it with any extension cord, plug it directly into the outlet (without anything else running on that circuit if possible).
darkzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 02:19 AM   #8
Ed_EOD
Senior Member
 
Ed_EOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Eielson AFB, AK/Afghanistan
Posts: 580
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

OK, I got it going. The was a connector that came loose in the box. It's purring like a kitten now. The only problem now is it seems to get up to about 130 before slowly falling to about 120 the turning off. Any ideas?

Two more things. What type of maintenance should I perform on it now? Also what are the two gauges for?

Please pardon my compressor ignorance.
Ed_EOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 02:44 AM   #9
darkzero
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 358
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

You should probably replace the broken gauge on the left before determining if you really might have an issue with pressure drop as you mentioned.

The larger gauge on the left is tank pressure, the smaller gauge on the right would be regulated pressure, the pressure going to your air devices. Hard to tell but the smaller gauge does look like a regulator. Is that a knob on the back/bottom of it? Turning the knob will adjust the line pressure.
darkzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 02:49 AM   #10
Ed_EOD
Senior Member
 
Ed_EOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Eielson AFB, AK/Afghanistan
Posts: 580
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

Yep the gauge on the right has a knob below it, that makes sense now. I actually fiddled with the broken one and it turned out the needle was on the wrong side of the stop pin. I still may replace it though.

What about changing the oil in the compressor?

I'm pretty happy with this so far, considering I was pissed I missed out on the "Great Lowes Compressor Deal." Just going by the numbers, this one is better and I paid way less.

Last edited by Ed_EOD; 11-21-2011 at 02:51 AM.
Ed_EOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 03:04 AM   #11
darkzero
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 358
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

You have the 155 max psi model so if your gauge doesn't even get close to that psi the gauge may need replacing considering it's condition.

Generally the only maintenance you need to worry about is keeping the filter clean/changing it, changing the oil, periodically draining the tank to let out moisture, & draining the particle/water seperator after the regulator (if that's what it is).

See if you can find the manual online or go to a Lowes to loook at one to see what weight oil the pump is recommended to use. It might also even say on the compressor somewhere. It should most likely be 30 or 40wt. My guess is 30wt/ISO100. Or judging by your location, 20wt/ISO68 might be suitable? Not sure if it's that cold there to justify the weight change. Be sure to use non-detergent oil though. Don't use regular motor oil.
darkzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 03:23 AM   #12
Ed_EOD
Senior Member
 
Ed_EOD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Eielson AFB, AK/Afghanistan
Posts: 580
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

Well it has been in the -40s this week but it will stay in a heated garage, so it doesn't matter. There is an oil recommendation sticker, but I'll have to look up how to change it. Getting the manual is a good idea, Lowes doesn't sell this model anymore, but I'm sure I can get one from the company.

Oh, and welcome to the forum!!
Ed_EOD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 03:26 AM   #13
scarsia
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 13
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

oh this is so cool.. thanks anyway for sharing this post...
scarsia is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 08:59 AM   #14
fr0mastaj
Senior Member
 
fr0mastaj's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: MA
Posts: 1,236
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

I have the (newer?) generation of this from the Lowes deal thread.

The bottom circle is a 10mm bolt that is your drain plug. It really helps to have something like a form-a-funnel to avoid a mess as it drains.

The top circle SHOULD be your fill port, although I am not certain for that model.

And the brass sight glass to the right is for checking the oil level. The manual for mine says exactly in the middle is full, however mine was unboxed with oil with the glass entirely full. I have since changed it with the Kobalt synthetic air compressor oil as the sticker recommended, to the middle of the sight glass.

Hope that helps.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg IMG_0430.jpg (135.7 KB, 33 views)
fr0mastaj is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 09:19 AM   #15
pipsters
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,885
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

Quote:
Originally Posted by darkzero View Post
That valve is a safety relief valve (aka PRV), it's purpose is to prevent your tank from turning into a bomb if the pressure switch were to fail as in the contacts getting stuck & not shutting off the motor.

It's best to use the drain at the bottom for releasing pressure so any moisture that has accumilated can be released too. But it is a good idea to pull the safety valve every so often to make sure it's working fine.

Since the hole for the pull ring is broken, if you do decide to replace it, be sure you replace it with the same exact PSI rating as the one you have.

Hope you get it running again. As recommended check the breaker & make sure you don't run it with any extension cord, plug it directly into the outlet (without anything else running on that circuit if possible).
FWIW the manual for my compressor stated to use the relief valve to bleed down to 20 psi and then open the drain plug after that to release the rest of it and the moisture.
pipsters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 10:57 AM   #16
kams1973
Alliance Member
 
kams1973's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Amarillo, TX
Posts: 1,440
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

I have that compressor. When new, there was a sticker on it that read "this compresssor requires fully synthetic 10w-30 motor oil"
kams1973 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 11:17 AM   #17
darkzero
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: SoCal
Posts: 358
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ed_EOD View Post
Oh, and welcome to the forum!!
Thank you very much.


Quote:
Originally Posted by pipsters View Post
FWIW the manual for my compressor stated to use the relief valve to bleed down to 20 psi and then open the drain plug after that to release the rest of it and the moisture.
Good point. I suppose that would be the best & safest (on your ears) way. In my case I have a 60gal compressor with a 17gal tank piggy backed to it so it doesn't make sense for me to relieve pressure before draining. Those SRVs are loud, I try to avoid touching it as much as possible. I leave my tanks pressurized most of the time, I have a ball valve with a hose attached to it for the the drain & drain moisture before I start to use it.


Quote:
Originally Posted by kams1973 View Post
I have that compressor. When new, there was a sticker on it that read "this compresssor requires fully synthetic 10w-30 motor oil"
Thanks for confirming. I heard that some new compressors recommended synthetic motor oil, some even specifically Mobil1. The key there is synthetic & regular motor oil should never be used. Nothing filters the oil so non detergent oil is required. Compressor oil is formulated for non-foaming but I guess motor oil would be too.

If it were me I would use 0w-30 Mobil1 Synthetic over the 10w-30 but it's not sold everywhere. I use Amsoil ISO100 Compressor Oil.
darkzero is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-21-2011, 11:29 AM   #18
pipsters
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: USA
Posts: 4,885
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

Campbell Hausfeld says to use Mobil 1 10w30 for their cast iron compressors or equivalent compressor oil.
pipsters is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 01:38 AM   #19
Super Sport
Alliance Member
 
Super Sport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: SW Michigan
Posts: 2,643
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

Are you guys who own one of these happy with it? I just ran across one for sale. Is it powerful enough to run an occasional air tool?

Think it will fit in a sedan?
Super Sport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2011, 08:23 AM   #20
jhelrey
Senior Member
 
jhelrey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: Plymouth Area-MN
Posts: 3,707
Default Re: My New (used) Kobalt Compressor!

It will run quite a bit
jhelrey is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:05 AM.