Welcome to the The Garage Journal Board forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   The Garage Journal Board > The Tools > General Tool Discussion

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 04-05-2012, 10:14 AM   #1
Uncle Ben

Default Rivets keep breaking off

I am new to rivet guns, so maybe this is user error, but they seem simple enough. The gun I bought is the one pictured below. It worked fine for my first rivet, but the 2nd one will not finish compressing without the shaft of the rivet breaking off about half way down, and then the gun is no longer able to grasp the shaft to finish the setting the rivet. The rivets I'm using are fairly long due to the depth that I'm going into, so it takes 3 "compressions" to finish it. The rivets came with a truck bed cover install kit, 3/16" diameter. I had to buy a box since my 2nd rivet (of two) broke off, but each one just breaks off every time on the 3rd compression. Could it be that the hole is drilled too big? That's the only thing I can think of, but that would mean I need to go buy a gun that will do a 1/4" rivet or larger.

At first I thought the gun had broken in some way after the first successful rivet, but after exchanging it for another it still did the same exact thing.

What could be causing this issue?

Thanks for your input!

Uncle Ben is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-05-2012, 10:43 AM   #2
Outlawmws

Default Re: Rivets keep breaking off