Welcome to the The Garage Journal Board forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   The Garage Journal Board > The Garage > General Garage Discussion

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 06-13-2012, 04:12 PM   #1
tacomabob

Default 2003 toyota tacoma v6 timing belt

I have a 2003 toyota tacoma 4wd doublecab v6.It's time to replace the timing belt. Plan on doing the water pump also.Anyone done this job? I'm an average do-it-yourself mechanic. Is this doable at home.Read some other write-ups about making tool to hold crank to remomve bolt and then retorque when complete.Just looking for other input if I should attempt this myself.
Thanks.
tacomabob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-13-2012, 04:50 PM   #2
jarmumd

Default Re: 2003 toyota tacoma v6 timing belt

It's not too bad, I did it on my 2000 Tundra v6 (5vz). I didn't have to make the tool since it was a manual transmission. It takes a while to get in there and unless you cut the plastic cover, you will need to drain and re-fill the coolant. This kinda implies that if you want to do anything else (seals, bearings) now's the time.

Two big things that I remember off the top of my head, the tensioner can be a PITA, there is a trick to it. I believe chiltons calls out to lock the tensioner with a drill bit. I didn't have to do this, but I think I was able to keep it loose and then tighten it down after I got the belt on.