Welcome to the The Garage Journal Board forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   The Garage Journal Board > The Garage > General Garage Discussion

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-10-2005, 02:35 PM   #1
MyMopar
Garageaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 39
Default Electrical wire size, what size to run?

2 questions regarding wire size.

1) For a 220 volt welder (Miller 175) what size wire should I run say for a 10' length? and what size breaker?

2) For a 7500 watt generator, what size wire should I run for that back to the panel?


The welder would be 2 hot and ground so that would be wire (size)/2 correct?

I know the generator is going to be 4 wire, 2 hot, neutral and ground, so it would be wire (size)/3 correct?
MyMopar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 08:03 PM   #2
TOMWELDS
Garageaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Westchester cty., N.Y.
Posts: 179
Default

With a cord (like an extension cord), you include the ground :EX; 1 white 1 black 1green = 12/3, if 12 gauge.
With cable, (like romex or BX), you dont include the ground :EX; 1 white 1 black 1 bare = 12/2, if 12 gauge.

I dont own the 175 but i think miiler recommends a 30amp circuit. The machine comes with a 50amp 250volt plug. That's standard with most welders. Install 10/2 RX or BX in the wall. 30amp breaker 2pole, and a 6-50R receptacle (50amp 250 volt recep.).
__________________
LICENSED ELECTRICIAN
BAKERY MECHANIC
TOMWELDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-10-2005, 08:09 PM   #3
TOMWELDS
Garageaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Westchester cty., N.Y.
Posts: 179
Default

With the 7500 watt generator, if you're making a quick cord for using on a jobsite or camping, #10 would be ok. If you're making a hookup to use during a black out, use 8/4 cord. 7500watts = 31.25 amps @240volts. technically that's for #8 wire.
__________________
LICENSED ELECTRICIAN
BAKERY MECHANIC
TOMWELDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 08:12 PM   #4
Fast Orange
Senior Member
 
Fast Orange's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Hightstown,N.J.
Posts: 856
Default

1) What is input amperage for welder? If 50A,use #6 AWG.
2) For 230V/7500W=33A-Use #8 AWG

Concerning # of conductors in different types of cables- X=wire AWG
X/2 romex= 1 white,1 black, 1 bare-MC cable is the same
Rubber cord-X/2= 1 white, 1 black-NO GROUND
X/4= 1 white, 1 black, 1 red, 1 green

George

Edit-You beat me to it,Tom-I gotta learn to type quicker.
Fast Orange is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 09:52 PM   #5
Stuart in MN
Senior Member
 
Stuart in MN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Minneapolis
Posts: 8,269
Default

The thing about welders is that the wire size depends on the duty cycle. The lower the duty cycle, the smaller the wire size. That's why a welder may have a 50 amp plug connected to wire that otherwise is only good for a 30 amp circuit. This is covered in article 630 of the NEC.

The owner's manuals for your welder and generator should have the factory recommendations for wiring. If you don't have copies you can probably find them online, I know Miller has the manual available on their website.
Stuart in MN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-10-2005, 10:23 PM   #6
TOMWELDS
Garageaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Westchester cty., N.Y.
Posts: 179
Default

Sberry is the best one for info on duty cycles and the like.
__________________
LICENSED ELECTRICIAN
BAKERY MECHANIC
TOMWELDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2005, 08:34 AM   #7
MyMopar
Garageaholic
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Connecticut
Posts: 39
Default

Thanks, I was looking to confirm some info and now it is crystal clear.
MyMopar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2005, 12:21 PM   #8
CraigFL
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Panama City, FL
Posts: 704
Default

I'm lazy so I just go to Home Depot and they tell me the wire size to run based on their wire(different wires have different current ratings for the same size). That way I don't have to look it up in the NEC. If I was using a standard 50A outlet, I would probably run 50A rated wire and a 50A breaker and mark it as such.
CraigFL is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-14-2005, 03:12 PM   #9
79rallysport
Wanted dead or alive
 
79rallysport's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Binghamton, NY
Posts: 223
Default

What I did when wiring my welder, I used 50A rated wire with a 30A breaker (the welder reqired a 30A circuit). This way, if for some reason I upgrade to a welder that requires a 50A circuit, all I have to do is switch out the breaker and the wire is already to go. FYI, the circuit was only about 3ft long but it was in the wall and can't be changed later.
__________________
My webpage
79rallysport is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 12:16 AM   #10
TOMWELDS
Garageaholic
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Westchester cty., N.Y.
Posts: 179
Default

That's the best way: #8 (50amp) and you can use any breaker up to 50amp.
__________________
LICENSED ELECTRICIAN
BAKERY MECHANIC
TOMWELDS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-15-2005, 02:56 AM   #11
muddy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: Michigan
Posts: 158
Default

I have a Miller 250 but I don't think the internals are alot different from your 175 at least I know the Miller 200 is about identical. Anyways, the input amps is what is important according to my electrician and 50 is the input for my 250......... Keith
muddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Under ground phone wire 86swb General Garage Discussion 25 10-26-2006 01:00 PM
wire breaker requirements for equipt. mdshore348 General Garage Discussion 9 03-05-2006 06:30 AM
Wire size question Wildfire General Garage Discussion 5 03-01-2006 09:01 AM
Ampacity of 8 ga aluminum wire? MN_Pete General Garage Discussion 4 12-28-2005 12:35 PM
Increase your wire size! sca037 General Garage Discussion 18 07-19-2005 05:57 PM

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:49 AM.