Welcome to the The Garage Journal Board forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   The Garage Journal Board > The Tools > General Tool Discussion

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 04-06-2013, 07:57 AM   #1
joedodge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tampa, fl
Posts: 2,319
Default Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

I'm finishing a tool topia order and was considering getting some spare fuses for my fluke 87 since I have made boo boos before. But do you guys just keep 20 dollars worth of these fuses laying in your box or get them when you need them
joedodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 08:43 AM   #2
bcradio
Senior Member
 
bcradio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,777
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

I only get them when needed. You are better off keeping a $30 dollar backup meter in case your fuse blows, then having fuses in your box. They are just tying up your capital. You can buy a fuse anytime, but with 2 meters you can do more things like measure voltage and current at the same time.
bcradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 04-06-2013, 08:54 AM   #3
joedodge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tampa, fl
Posts: 2,319
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

That's a very goodoint I have a older esi meter as my back up actually and the fuses are only $2 for it lol it's a pretty good meter
joedodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 10:10 AM   #4
wnyrider
Senior Member
 
wnyrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: WNY Buffalo
Posts: 297
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

I soldered a automotive blade type pigtail inside my 88 and now have many automotive blade fuses I can use.
wnyrider is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 10:50 AM   #5
0.511MeV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 408
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

Yes, I do. They don't seem to be very readily available, so I would rather keep one around. They are less than 10 bucks on Amazon I think.

Also, I rarely use the current capabilities of my meters unless it is very very low current electronics, if it is higher current, I usually use a clamp probe. So the odds of me blowing a fuse are very low.

Finally, I do have multiple meters, and I would never consider using a 30 dollar meter to measure current in series as it likely does not have a fuse inside, or if it does it doesn't have appropriate shielding and containment for a fuse blowing up. I'd rather not blow my hand off if I make a mistake and put > 10 amps through the meter.
0.511MeV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 10:53 AM   #6
RPH
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Michigan Thumb
Posts: 1,003
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

I do field service on the global basis and having spare fuses for the meter is cheap insurance.
RPH is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 11:11 AM   #7
joedodge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tampa, fl
Posts: 2,319
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

Ya I agree with everyone thre just a so effing expensive there $16 for the amps and $11 for the milliamperes locally I know I can to better on amazon though. My esi meter is 10 amp capable also and fuses are only $2 for it maybe ill just use it for measuring parasitic draws and such
joedodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 11:23 AM   #8
miatakid
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 44
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

i did not get any extra fuses. what i did was take the postive lead and put a in line fuse in it < like what you see for car radio> so if i blow a fuse it will be the normal maxi fuse and not the meter fuse. auto fuses cost alot less then meter fuses. and i use a 7.5 amp.
miatakid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 11:26 AM   #9
joedodge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tampa, fl
Posts: 2,319
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

Do you still put a 10 amp fuse in line as it will blow before the meters fuse? I like this idea
joedodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 11:26 AM   #10
joedodge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tampa, fl
Posts: 2,319
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

Nvm didn't read befor typing just saw the 7.5
joedodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 11:34 AM   #11
joedodge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tampa, fl
Posts: 2,319
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

So I saw the esi makes a set of fused leads. But ill make my own my question to you guys is if I take a standard blade type mini fuse holder and put in line with the positive meter lead should I crimp and heat shrink or solder and heat shrink I do t want to add to much resistance to my meter leads as I do alot of auto electrical work.
joedodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 04:44 PM   #12
knocker
Senior Member
 
knocker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Peoria, Az
Posts: 226
Default

I bought a spare fuse for my fluke about 2006 and have yet to need it but still I don't feel as if I wasted the money, it's just insurance in case I did blow it I can still continue on with the job.
__________________
ASE Master Certified
Volvo Master Certified
knocker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 04:50 PM   #13
joedodge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tampa, fl
Posts: 2,319
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

I'll prolly get one but deffinatly getting the fused leads i like that
joedodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 05:16 PM   #14
diesel research
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: gulf coast, TEXAS
Posts: 5,465
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joedodge View Post
ill just use it for measuring parasitic draws and such

Attached Files
File Type: pdf Voltage Drop Across a Fuse Chart.pdf (49.2 KB, 25 views)
diesel research is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 05:17 PM   #15
bcradio
Senior Member
 
bcradio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2012
Location: New Mexico
Posts: 1,777
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by 0.511MeV View Post
Yes, I do. They don't seem to be very readily available, so I would rather keep one around. They are less than 10 bucks on Amazon I think.

Also, I rarely use the current capabilities of my meters unless it is very very low current electronics, if it is higher current, I usually use a clamp probe. So the odds of me blowing a fuse are very low.

Finally, I do have multiple meters, and I would never consider using a 30 dollar meter to measure current in series as it likely does not have a fuse inside, or if it does it doesn't have appropriate shielding and containment for a fuse blowing up. I'd rather not blow my hand off if I make a mistake and put > 10 amps through the meter.
I guess my 30 dollar meter is special then cause it's just fine measuring current and has a 10 amp fuse as well that does just fine. I certainly trust that one.
bcradio is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 05:42 PM   #16
FLRover
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Historic Pensacola, FL USA
Posts: 668
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

I needed a fuse for my 115 when I asked the Matco man if he had any on his truck he sold me all he had for $15. A dozen or so. He said no one ever buys them and he wanted to dump them.
__________________
Some Rovers
FLRover is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 06:00 PM   #17
0.511MeV
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 408
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by bcradio View Post
I guess my 30 dollar meter is special then cause it's just fine measuring current and has a 10 amp fuse as well that does just fine. I certainly trust that one.
http://www.eevblog.com/forum/testgea...-safety-specs/

It may very well be special.

I have a few meters that don't have properly sized fuses, though. Check the list or check the meter itself and make sure.
0.511MeV is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 06:02 PM   #18
diesel research
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: gulf coast, TEXAS
Posts: 5,465
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

voltage dropping a fuse for automotive current levels means no more burnt fuses or meters....
diesel research is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 06:11 PM   #19
joedodge
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: Tampa, fl
Posts: 2,319
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

That's actually a pretty cool idea ill have to look into that
joedodge is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-06-2013, 06:13 PM   #20
miatakid
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 44
Default Re: Do you guys keep spare meter fuses in your box?

Quote:
Originally Posted by joedodge View Post
Do you still put a 10 amp fuse in line as it will blow before the meters fuse? I like this idea
you could put what ever size fuse you want in the lead, but rember it blow the lowest rated fuse first. so if you want a 10 amp fuse in the lead you need to put a 12 to 15 amp fuse inside the meter ,so as to make sure the test lead fuse blows first.
miatakid is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:09 PM.