Welcome to the The Garage Journal Board forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   The Garage Journal Board > The Garage > Lighting & Electrical

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-15-2008, 10:32 PM   #1
trackwelder
Alliance Member

Default Backfeeding panel with generator power

With the recent ice storm in the northeast I have begun to think of how to power my house incase the power goes out. I am not an electrician by any means but can change an outlet or wire a plug. My neighbor states that I can trip the main breaker off any run a lead to my dryer plug to backfeed the panel and run my furnace and fridge. Just looking for opinions or experiences with doing this. I plan on having a new panel installed this spring and will add a transfer switch also.
trackwelder is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-15-2008, 10:36 PM   #2
Junkman

Default Re: Backfeeding panel with generator power

If you back feed the power from a generator without the proper disconnect switch, you are doing an illegal act. I know that in CT, if Connecticut Light and Power find you back feeding without the proper disconnect switch, they will cut the lines to your home. They will not reconnect them until you properly upgrade the service. They are very forceful about this, since some linemen have been injured/killed as a result.

Men wake up as good-looking as they went to bed.
Women somehow deteriorate during the night.