Welcome to the The Garage Journal Board forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   The Garage Journal Board > The Garage > General Garage Discussion

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 11-04-2007, 05:57 PM   #181
enginerd
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 353
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nightshift View Post
Well enginerd ... I've been using hockey pucks under my compressor for about 35 years. I think during that time, I did put fresh ones under it one time about 20 years ago when I moved and in the process, the short lag bolts holding them one got pulled off.
Interesting. Maybe the pucks in Canada are better quality

Thanks for the info, much appreciated.

We'll probably try one of these mounts from Mcmaster, cheap enough to try, and they should offer a bit more isolation than the pucks.

We're going to have over a hundred pieces of NHL memorabilia in the upstairs garage lounge, so it should take care of the hockey content lol (car stuff will be kept to the other major garage areas, in the showroom/shop, along with all the model displays/etc). Car stuff might get priority though, hockey stuff might make the move into the basement. But with 12ft high ceiling in the 2nd floor lounge, we might have enough space for it all.

Last edited by enginerd; 11-04-2007 at 05:59 PM.
enginerd is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 02:08 AM   #182
Wiggawam
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: LA
Posts: 54
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

My new to me compressor, still have to rewire a new 220 outlet for it and do up some copper now that prices are dropping. 80 gallons of nice 18.4 cfm @ 90 psi. Forgive the mess the garage got invaded for a bit so stuff had to be piled up.

Wiggawam is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 11-27-2007, 06:37 PM   #183
phantomdaz
Junior Member
 
phantomdaz's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Lexington Ky
Posts: 17
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

Quote:
Originally Posted by G M View Post
80 Gallon 2 stage in the Attic with a remote air filter mounted outside = very quiet.

How is the noise with that thing running in the attic?
I am thinking on doing the same thing but was wondering if it would be too loud
phantomdaz is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 09:00 PM   #184
WolverineCoatings
Senior Member
 
WolverineCoatings's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Spartanburg, SC
Posts: 831
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

Holy Crap this is a long thread...

I just read the WHOLE thing!!!

Thanks guys... I learned a lot from this. I especially liked the pics of the hard piping and the ideas for getting rid of water in the lines. I just have a 175 Craftsman right now... maybe I'll get something cool enough to post pics of one day... lol
__________________
www.WolverineCoatings.com

Wolverine Coatings Corporation's products are sold exclusively through Fred with AlphaGarage for Residential or DIY applications. Please contact Fred@AlphaGarage.com for your DIY project.
WolverineCoatings is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-27-2007, 10:57 PM   #185
G M
Senior Member
 
G M's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Winnipeg
Posts: 114
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

Quote:
Originally Posted by phantomdaz View Post
How is the noise with that thing running in the attic?
I am thinking on doing the same thing but was wondering if it would be too loud
Not noisy at all. I built little rubber and foam pads for it to mount on. I think most people would expect it to cause resonance and vibration being up there, I suspected it might but that way too but it is not the case at all. I have the air intake routed outside, that alone cuts down on half the noise. I have since enclosed it more and added ceiling tiles to the side of the enclosure since they are a more fireproof material and help absorb sound better then drywall. The way I see it is the only way you are gonna have a quieter compressor is if you put it outside. Just for reference since half of it doesnt show this is a 6hp 80 gallon two stage.

G M is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 08:57 AM   #186
Powerband
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 15
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

I recently traded a 30 Gal oil lubed compressor for a unit that was in a friend's 3 bay gas Staion. :











My shop is on inside wall of attached storage area. I need info on the unloader setup. I don't think it's working. The continuous duty "3 HP" motor needed an engine cherry picker to pick up - not quite like the sewing machine size "5 HP" motor on the little one I traded...



Powerband l
Powerband is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 09:29 AM   #187
Nightshift
Senior Member
 
Nightshift's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: London, Ontario
Posts: 259
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

Nice find Powerband. Ya, you got a real motor now .. 16 amp on 220v is a great 3 hp! I know what you mean ... I have a similar one and they are heavy ... especially to lift that high. Both my motor and pump have eye bolts which makes it real easy to lift from.
Nightshift is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 09:48 AM   #188
locomike
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 149
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

Here is my 3 phase Champion compressor that my uncle left me when I bought the garage off him. More then I will ever need. It used to run the whole place when it was a machine shop.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg shop pics 001.jpg (59.9 KB, 303 views)
locomike is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-28-2007, 04:16 PM   #189
christmas
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: frederick,colorado
Posts: 11
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

A really long thread. I read all of the "Bunker" thread yesterday so I skipped to the end of this one.
I piped lines from my compressor in the basement when I built the house 10 years ago. It is in a room for the compressor and the electrical subpanel. It is enclosed and insulated so little noise escapes, out of my way, and stays warm. Piped in PVC so I can easily tap for more drops.
Compressor is oil-free which I wouldn't recommend because of it's noise.
christmas is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 09:38 AM   #190
cvmikeray
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 1
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

Newbie to this forum but here is my setup with an Air Dryer and Silencer
U5 - 1 (1 being the inlet side)
http://www.nciweb.net/universalsilencers/u5.htm
Paid about $135.00 for the silencer at Ingersol Rand Dealer. My be cheaper from this site. Should be able to get one that will fit any compressor. 90% of the noise of a comprssor is on the inlet.

Makes it quite. I will move the whole unit outside eventually but will leave the silencer on it to be nice to the neighbors . The hard lines and IR filters are great also.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg Silencer PIC.JPG (43.2 KB, 988 views)

Last edited by cvmikeray; 12-02-2007 at 09:44 AM.
cvmikeray is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 10:46 AM   #191
87GN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: phila, pa
Posts: 256
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

Here's my IR.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg ZP5270545 (Small).JPG (49.5 KB, 782 views)
87GN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 10:50 AM   #192
87GN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: phila, pa
Posts: 256
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

oops- wrong picture. Here's my IR.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg PB191484 (Small).JPG (31.8 KB, 679 views)
87GN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 03:48 PM   #193
V-10 Killer
Senior Member
 
V-10 Killer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Midland, MI
Posts: 960
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

Quote:
Originally Posted by 87GN View Post
Here's my IR.
You might have to pop the hood to show us the compressor on that one
__________________
www.V10Killer.com
My Toybox Build

"Up until the 20th century, advancement of civilization was defined by the strongest among us.
Now, it appears its going to be defined by the weakest among us."
V-10 Killer is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-02-2007, 04:13 PM   #194
87GN
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: phila, pa
Posts: 256
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

Quote:
Originally Posted by V-10 Killer View Post
You might have to pop the hood to show us the compressor on that one
Here's the other air compressor
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P9150743 (Small).JPG (70.0 KB, 489 views)
87GN is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-12-2007, 09:14 PM   #195
Miltons Bells
Junior Member
 
Miltons Bells's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Houston
Posts: 12
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

The attic installation is a great use of garage space.
Miltons Bells is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-13-2007, 08:44 PM   #196
HacksawsGarage
Member
 
HacksawsGarage's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: southern Ct.
Posts: 69
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

indeed it is.
__________________
www.hacksawsgarage.com
HacksawsGarage is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2007, 06:08 PM   #197
scotty t
Member
 
scotty t's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: indiana
Posts: 79
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

Quote:
Originally Posted by Wolverine View Post
Not a big one, but it's perfect for my needs.


man your garage is cleaner than the emergency room where i got my last stitches where is the dirt, rust, scale, junk parts, old cars, mud and mosquitoes. looks real nice!!
scotty t is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 04:02 AM   #198
Down Under Bloke
Senior Member
 
Down Under Bloke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Top End NT Australia
Posts: 378
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

Iím almost in the market for a new compressor and was wondering about the merits of single versus dual stage compressors.

I had a quick look at a dual stage compressor and from memory it achieved higher out PSI than the singles. Also the dual stage had a better quality air filter and seems to run slower (bigger pump pulley) than the single stages, would this asst with inlet noise reduction. My logic is if the pump is turning slower and the relative pressures on the reed valve exposed to the atmosphere is lower then the noise may be lower?
Down Under Bloke is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 01:12 PM   #199
kochevnik
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Posts: 10
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

Haven't seen anybody with anything like mine - so here's my contribution.

The compressor is a Hydrovane 10 PUTS. It's a rotary vane compressor - should last about 100,000 hours before failure. I spent a month or two searching for one of these - almost bought a new one but delivery was too far out. Hydrovanes come from the factory with a 10 year, 48,000 hour warranty, that should give some idea of the quality involved.

When I looked for a compressor, I needed three things - it had to last forever, it had to be QUIET, and it had to put out enough air to run my milling machine (100 psi 7 CFM).

This one runs at 65 db - about as noisy as a dishwasher. $1100 used - not cheap, but I expect I will be dead before it will.

I put it on a cart I got from Lowes for $70 - I can haul it anywhere I want.

It doesn't have an air tank because rotary vane compressors run continuously at 100 percent of capacity.
Attached Images
File Type: jpg final9.jpg (75.4 KB, 668 views)

Last edited by kochevnik; 12-26-2007 at 02:42 PM.
kochevnik is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-26-2007, 05:03 PM   #200
Charles (in GA)
Senior Member
 
Charles (in GA)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 50 mi south of Atlanta
Posts: 10,799
Default Re: Compression - Show Off Your Compressor

Quote:
Originally Posted by kochevnik View Post
It doesn't have an air tank because rotary vane compressors run continuously at 100 percent of capacity.
Which is exactly why you don't seen anyone using one. In an industrial setting with continuous air consumption, they are great, but in a home garage setting, having to crank up one to blow up the kids basketball, or service the tire pressure on the family car, is kind crazy.

To walk out to the shop and fire up the compressor and let it run the whole time you are in the shop, just in case you need air, must be real expensive electricity wise.

Charles
Charles (in GA) is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:32 AM.