Welcome to the The Garage Journal Board forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   The Garage Journal Board > The Garage > Heating and A/C

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-21-2009, 02:35 PM   #1
smodat

Default Heating a combustible materials closet

I'm a newbie and enjoy the site and find you guys very innovative, so...I live in Atlantic Canada and it is not uncommon to see the mercury dip below -30C in the winter, each fall the ritual is to pack up anything that can freeze and carry it into the house and then repeat the move to the garage in the spring. This is a 24x32 foot hobby garage in which I do not spend a lot of time in during the colder winter months other than to make the odd necessary repair. Since I donít spend a lot of time out there in the winter I do not wish to keep, nor pay for, the temperature in the garage to stay above freezing. So, I was thinking about building a small room or closet within which to keep anything that could freeze and provided this room is insulated and sealed well enough I should be able to heat it quite cheaplyÖand Iím all about being cheap. The problem is, what would be the best thing for a heat source?? Keeping in mind that the closet will be sealed fairly well and contain combustible materials such as aerosol paint cans I donít want to cause a permanent solution to the problem by burning my garage down as the result of an electrical spark. I was thinking of using a small ceramic type heater with a fan and b