Welcome to the The Garage Journal Board forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   The Garage Journal Board > The Garage > Lighting & Electrical

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-22-2009, 09:30 AM   #1
Jeepskate
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mid-Ohio
Posts: 218
Default Crimping ground wires?

Had my final inspection yesterday and passed, but the inspector made a note that he wants an 'irreversible crimp' installed on the ground wires to my panel. Here's the situation: I have 200A service in a steel sided post-frame building which required 3 grounds...two from the panel (one of which also grounds the siding) and another on the opposite corner of the building to ground the siding again. The electrician was off on his estimate of how much #4 ground wire I would need, so he ended up short on the panel and I had to get some more wire. What he ended up doing is running three wires...one from each ground rod and one from the panel and then securing them with a copper split bolt lug. Works just fine, but the inspector wants a crimp (as if someone is going to go in there and unbolt the ground wires). I haven't got a clue where to get a crimp (or what kind of crimp) and crimping tool for this. Does anyone know? Not a big rush; he did pass me but wants to be notified when the crimp has been installed. I'm used to the small gauge stuff for automotive electronics, but not this big stuff.
Jeepskate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 10:06 AM   #2
tfi racing
Senior Member
 
tfi racing's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Cedar,BC
Posts: 1,294
Default Re: Crimping ground wires?

Talk to your electrician-he may have or have access to a hand crimper or hy-press.Around here the better electrical supply places will lend or rent them out to their account holders when you buy the crimps from them.This is likely the type of product he is refering to:

http://portal.fciconnect.com/portal/...talog%2FBurndy
tfi racing is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-22-2009, 11:24 AM   #3
Charles (in GA)
Senior Member
 
Charles (in GA)'s Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: 50 mi south of Atlanta
Posts: 11,210
Default Re: Crimping ground wires?

Code requires continuous, uninterrupted ground to all the rods. The split bolt is not good enough. Exothermic welding is acceptable, an electrical supply house would be able to help you with a one time use kit for this.

Charles
Charles (in GA) is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 12:33 PM   #4
walrus
Senior Member
 
walrus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Location: Maine
Posts: 4,103
Default Re: Crimping ground wires?

Is this a pole building, wooden frame, steel siding? If so its interesting that he made you ground the siding
walrus is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 03:46 PM   #5
Jeepskate
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mid-Ohio
Posts: 218
Default Re: Crimping ground wires?

Yes, it's a pole building; wooden frame, steel siding.

Thanks for the info, guys. I was trying to avoid calling the electrician since it'll take him longer to drive out here than to crimp it, but I guess he's just going to have to make the trip.
Jeepskate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 03:59 PM   #6
Tscott
Senior Member
 
Tscott's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: Keystone Heights, FL.
Posts: 1,287
Default Re: Crimping ground wires?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles (in GA) View Post
Code requires continuous, uninterrupted ground to all the rods. The split bolt is not good enough. Exothermic welding is acceptable, an electrical supply house would be able to help you with a one time use kit for this.

Charles
Charles is correct. Talk to your electrical supply house. They should have a Cadweld kit that will work for you. If not, try google.

http://www.google.com/products?q=cad...ed=0CCoQrQQwAg


Here is a video, that is similer to what you need. Same process, but instead of a reusable mold the one time kits mold is a throw away.

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=M7sB6Hx0kwY


Tom
Tscott is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 08:03 PM   #7
Aceman
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: Eastern Oregon
Posts: 1,968
Default Re: Crimping ground wires?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Charles (in GA) View Post
Code requires continuous, uninterrupted ground to all the rods.
It only has to be continuous to the first rod. You can then jump from the first to second rod with another piece of wire.

I've never needed to run 2 seperate wires to two rods, it doesn't make sense really.

Last edited by Aceman; 12-22-2009 at 08:05 PM.
Aceman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-22-2009, 11:29 PM   #8
Jeepskate
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mid-Ohio
Posts: 218
Default Re: Crimping ground wires?

I think I'll go for the crimp since that's what the inspector indicated and the cadweld doesn't seem like such a 'hot' idea for doing right next to a 2x4 wooden purlin. Alternately, I can just dig back down to the ground rods and run two new wires back to the panel. That may actually be my cheapest/easiest route since I can do it myself. Supposed to thaw out on Christmas Eve, so that may be the time to do it.
Jeepskate is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 05:08 AM   #9
Norcal
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Posts: 4,046
Default Re: Crimping ground wires?

Here is a copy & paste from the 2008 NEC, it is unchanged from the 2005 edition.

250.64 Grounding Electrode Conductor Installation.
Grounding electrode conductors at the service, at each
building or structure where supplied by a feeder(s) or
branch circuit(s), or at a separately derived system shall be
installed as specified in 250.64(A) through (F).
(A) Aluminum or Copper-Clad Aluminum Conductors.
Bare aluminum or copper-clad aluminum grounding conductors
shall not be used where in direct contact with masonry
or the earth or where subject to corrosive conditions.
Where used outside, aluminum or copper-clad aluminum
grounding conductors shall not be terminated within
450 mm (18 in.) of the earth.
(B) Securing and Protection Against Physical Damage.
Where exposed, a grounding electrode conductor or its enclosure
shall be securely fastened to the surface on which it
is carried. A 4 AWG or larger copper or aluminum grounding
electrode conductor shall be protected where exposed to
physical damage. A 6 AWG grounding electrode conductor
that is free from exposure to physical damage shall be permitted
to be run along the surface of the building construction
without metal covering or protection where it is securely
fastened to the construction; otherwise, it shall be in
rigid metal conduit, intermediate metal conduit, rigid nonmetallic
conduit, electrical metallic tubing, or cable armor.
Grounding electrode conductors smaller than 6 AWG shall be
in rigid metal conduit, intermediate metal conduit, rigid nonmetallic
conduit, electrical metallic tubing, or cable armor.
(C) Continuous. Grounding electrode conductor(s) shall
be installed in one continuous length without a splice or
joint except as permitted in (1) and (2):
(1) Splicing shall be permitted only by irreversible
compression-type connectors listed as grounding and
bonding equipment or by the exothermic welding process.

(2) Sections of busbars shall be permitted to be connected
together to form a grounding electrode conductor.

Bold text by me.
Norcal is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-23-2009, 08:51 PM   #10
oleguy
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Posts: 272
Default Re: Crimping ground wires?

splices of any kind have to be accessable.and that splice is not code.
oleguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-25-2009, 08:15 PM   #11
Jeepskate
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2009
Location: Mid-Ohio
Posts: 218
Default Re: Crimping ground wires?

Thanks...I'm aware that it's not code at this point based upon the previous posts and it will be corrected. Good point about the accessability; I'll be sure to put in an access panel when I finish the walls if I don't run new ground wires.
Jeepskate is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:56 PM.