Welcome to the The Garage Journal Board forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   The Garage Journal Board > The Garage > Heating and A/C

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 01-14-2010, 08:24 PM   #1
knarf

Default Aux Heat Light on Thermostat Not Working

High all, this is my first time on the Garage Journal and was wondering if anyone could offer some advice. I have a Heil 2 stage heat and 1 stage ac, heat pump unit. Everything seems to be working properly except the indicator lights on the thermostat.

If I switch the thermostat to emergency heat the red emergency light and the blue aux light both come on (the blue aux light about half as bright as the red emergency light). When the thermostat is in the normal heat position and I raise the temperature high enough so that both mercury bulbs are engaged (if I understand correctly this kicks in the aux heat) no lights come on. The heat from the registers is greater when both mercury bulbs are activated so the aux heat strips must be working. I would like to know when the aux heat is on without having to remove the thermostat cover.

Does this sound like a defective thermostat, or wiring problem, or something else? The system was professionally installed in '04, but, I just noticed this situation with the cold snap we have had in South Carolina since the first of the year.

Thanks,
Frank
Attached Images
File Type: jpg P1000468.JPG (106.8 KB, 17 views)
File Type: jpg P1000469.JPG (108.6 KB, 12 views)