Welcome to the The Garage Journal Board forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   The Garage Journal Board > The Garage > Lighting & Electrical

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 10-26-2010, 11:26 AM   #1
shermanator
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default Wiring a remote shed to run off generator

I have a remote garden shed on my property that is roughly 2000' from my house's electrical panel. The shed is used in the summer for help with the remote garden. I don't think it's practical to run conduit to the shed (not a smart expense considering I don't need power every day) and I want to power the shed using a small-ish generator.

The shed is not currently wired, I want a couple outlets and some lighting. I want to wire it (probably need no more than 2-pole and 20 amp service) to only run from the generator. Since I won't have it connected to the utility, I'm thinking I don't need a transfer switch. Is there something (adapter) I can feed right into the panel (from the generator)?

Perhaps there is no such product, because I assume hooking up a generator to something off-grid is not a big market. Any thoughts on the best way to pull this off? Thanks!
shermanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 04:44 PM   #2
hillbilly1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 99
Default Re: Wiring a remote shed to run off generator

Here is an easy way to do it, you mount this box outside, wire it to a small panel, then just plug your generator into this box, safe with no exposed live parts. http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/wwg...N=0&sst=subset
hillbilly1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 10-26-2010, 04:56 PM   #3
shermanator
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 3
Default Re: Wiring a remote shed to run off generator

Quote:
Originally Posted by hillbilly1 View Post
Here is an easy way to do it, you mount this box outside, wire it to a small panel, then just plug your generator into this box, safe with no exposed live parts. http://www.grainger.com/Grainger/wwg...N=0&sst=subset
Great, thank you! I saw these when I was doing my research, but something convinced me they were not what I was looking for. But looking at them again, you are right, I think this is the best way to go. Thanks!
shermanator is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 05:04 PM   #4
hillbilly1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 99
Default Re: Wiring a remote shed to run off generator

Depot and Lowes used to carry those also, but I could not find them on their website.
hillbilly1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 05:29 PM   #5
HOTFR8
Super Moderator
 
HOTFR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Castlemaine, Victoria. The Hot Rod Centre of Australia.
Posts: 12,134
Default Re: Wiring a remote shed to run off generator

If I was you I would wire it like a Caravan. That way you can unhook the lead and gen set and put them away in the shed when not required.
__________________
1966 (Aussie) XP Falcon Sedan, 1923 T Roadster, 1948 F4 Truck, Home Built Teardrop Camper, 1969 International 4 X 4 truck (Classic),
84 x 30 Colorbond Shed with Workshop, Car storage and Office.

www.streetrod.com.au

The Beast Runs>http://www.garagejournal.com/forum/s...0871&showall=1
Sheddwellers>http://www.garagejournal.com/forum/s...0063&showall=1

"V8's are Great, But Six inlines Just Fine" - CUMMINS Advertising.
HOTFR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-26-2010, 06:45 PM   #6
mrb
Senior Member
 
mrb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Posts: 3,735
Default Re: Wiring a remote shed to run off generator

here's an affordable way to do it. Mount a weatherproof junction box, and install this http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-4937-W.../dp/B00074USHY on it. Has a male 5-15 plug under the flip cover.
mrb is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-27-2010, 04:10 AM   #7
HOTFR8
Super Moderator
 
HOTFR8's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Castlemaine, Victoria. The Hot Rod Centre of Australia.
Posts: 12,134
Default Re: Wiring a remote shed to run off generator

Quote:
Originally Posted by mrb View Post
here's an affordable way to do it. Mount a weatherproof junction box, and install this http://www.amazon.com/Leviton-4937-W.../dp/B00074USHY on it. Has a male 5-15 plug under the flip cover.
Similar to what I suggested. A good looking fitting as well.
__________________
1966 (Aussie) XP Falcon Sedan, 1923 T Roadster, 1948 F4 Truck, Home Built Teardrop Camper, 1969 International 4 X 4 truck (Classic),
84 x 30 Colorbond Shed with Workshop, Car storage and Office.

www.streetrod.com.au

The Beast Runs>http://www.garagejournal.com/forum/s...0871&showall=1
Sheddwellers>http://www.garagejournal.com/forum/s...0063&showall=1

"V8's are Great, But Six inlines Just Fine" - CUMMINS Advertising.
HOTFR8 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:48 AM.