Welcome to the The Garage Journal Board forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   The Garage Journal Board > The Garage > Free Parking

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 12-04-2010, 11:13 PM   #1
WastedAgain440

Default Entry level mechanic jobs

Can anybody give me some pointers on getting a entry level auto tech job? I can't seem to get my foot in any door, I have experience as a tire/battery installer and graduated from tech high school,although I studied hvac. Recently got layed off again as a screenprinter and I would like to start a career instead of another dead end job. I know of a couple people who got entry level jobs years ago and had no tools or any experience besides high school auto shop.For what it's worth, I can turn a wrench. I've been working on cars since I was 10 as a hobby and I fix all my friends cars when they break...

My question, is it worth even trying in this economy? Do shops even consider taking in someone with no schooling?

Forgot to add I have my own tools already.

Thanks
WastedAgain440 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-04-2010, 11:21 PM   #2
I can fix anything

Default Re: Entry level mechanic jobs