Welcome to the The Garage Journal Board forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   The Garage Journal Board > The Garage > General Garage Discussion

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
Old 12-29-2010, 04:01 PM   #1
bowlofturtle
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: Chicago
Posts: 323
Default Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

I have a craftsman garage door opener. 1/2 HP made in 01/00

model is 139.53971SRT

The gear just stripped just about completely now.

http://www.prodoorparts.com/uploads/...007%200561.JPG

Gear looks VERY close to that but its not the one for my model. I haven't found the replacement part yet but looks to be somewhere in the $30-45 range, hopefully its cake to R&R this. Trying to find the manual to see if its easy to replace or not, looks like a couple of bolts and i'm good but setting it up and aligning it is the issue.

I'm debating if i should rebuild it or just get a whole new one since they only cost $150-200 ish. I felt very neutral about the current garage door opener, it did its job until now.

What would you guys do... rebuild or replace?
bowlofturtle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 04:22 PM   #2
kbs2244
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 6,277
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

Gear kit should be about $20.00 including shipping.
Fix it.
It is an easy learing job.

And makes you look good in the light of the other half.
Now she has $175.00 to spend.
kbs2244 is offline   Reply With Quote
Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)
Old 12-29-2010, 05:21 PM   #3
Snowbound
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Location: Kelowna, BC
Posts: 62
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

I did one of my openers last year. Not a big job at all. Drive out a roll pin and replace the worn gear. Kit comes with grease and some other parts. I just used what I needed and kept the rest "just in case".

Good luck!
Snowbound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 05:28 PM   #4
ratdoggy
Senior Member
 
ratdoggy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2009
Location: Akron-Canton area OH
Posts: 3,909
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

Not hard to do at all. If you can work a wrench you can do it.
ratdoggy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 05:43 PM   #5
pinebarkauto
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 44
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

I'll bet the $30-$40 part is a kit. I replaced the gears in my Chamberlain unit a few years ago and one of the parts companies, www.garagedooropenerparts.net, offered just the gear for about $20 and a kit for a little more. The kit included both gears, a shaft, and all the bearings and grease. When finished, I felt I had a new unit but for the motor. FYI, when I took the unit loose, I realized my door took substantial effort to raise and lower. I got a pro to come out and adjust the springs, but others may be brave enough to attempt it. Not me. I am sure that caused the gear to go out. Chip.
pinebarkauto is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 05:55 PM   #6
billspit
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: SC
Posts: 354
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

Exact same thing happened with a rarely used Sears opener I had. I bought the kit in the store parts dept for around $20.
billspit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 05:56 PM   #7
oldtractors
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Location: Iowa
Posts: 195
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

Replacing the gear is a lot easier than hanging a new opener.
oldtractors is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 08:34 PM   #8
tcianci
Senior Member
 
tcianci's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Walpole, Ma
Posts: 3,009
Send a message via AIM to tcianci
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

Fixing that thing is a piece of cake. The lube in the kit is IMPERITIVE to any reasonable life expected from the new gear. My C'man opener is over 30 years old and I have done this twice, the 2nd time being less than a year ago so I'm getting about 15 years out of a gear. The first time I bought the kit and like others have said, you really ony need the gear and the grease, the other stuff in there is usually still good. The 2nd time I found the gear online for about 8 or 9 bucks, and I still had the lube from the first kit. You may even find the correct lube sold separately where you find the gear, so you don't need to spring for the kit. Go for it!
__________________
People are doing either what they THINK is right or what they KNOW is wrong.
tcianci is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 08:52 PM   #9
NJHandyGuy
Senior Member
 
NJHandyGuy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: (732) 279-8599
Posts: 3,899
Send a message via AIM to NJHandyGuy
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

Replace the gear.

if i am not mistaking its a adjustable wrnech and an 11mm bolt or 9/16's
__________________
TOP CASH 4 ALL CARS
Good, Bad, Junk, Wrecked, All bought in CASH
(732) 279-8599
www.Libertytowing.webs.com
NJHandyGuy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 08:58 PM   #10
Mr_fixit
Senior Member
 
Mr_fixit's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Posts: 564
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

you should find what you need for about 8.95.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Sears-Craftsman-...item27b3185479
Mr_fixit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 10:08 PM   #11
jstroede
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2010
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 388
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

At a minimum, get this kit:

http://cgi.ebay.com/41a2817-Gear-Kit...#ht_1322wt_942

Personally, I would just get this:

http://cgi.ebay.com/Liftmaster-41C42...f#ht_500wt_725

The second one is the same parts, but already assembled and just drops in. That is what at least 75% of our installers buy. Replace both the gear and the sprocket at the same time, or often times it will happen again very quickly.

Go ahead and fix it if the opener functions fine otherwise. New openers are basically the same, other than working on a different frequency so your old remotes and accessories will not work.

John
__________________
Garage Door Guru
jstroede is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 10:18 PM   #12
scbird94
Senior Member
 
scbird94's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Sauk Rapids, MN
Posts: 596
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

I almost replaced our liftmaster last month, would only click when you pressed the button, motor was getting voltage, and it would work if you helped it in its initial start.

Tested the capacitor for initial motor start, wouldnt hold a charge at all. Asked local garage door guy (freind) if he had any liftmasters in his dumpster, yes... robbed a film-canister sized capacitor from the garbage, and saved $200. Works perfectly :-)

I hate how everybody just throws everything away when something is wrong with it. Same logic at a car dealership. Car needs a set of tires and a wheel bearing ($500) so instead of fixing it they trade it in for half what its worth to buy a overpriced car for $10,000 that will be worth $3000 in five years.

Replace ANYTHING only under catostrophic total-loss failure. If you can spend a small amount and get 2 more years out of it, your money ahead.
scbird94 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 10:52 PM   #13
battmain
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 192
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

I've replaced the gear. Hardest part is getting the assembly down without dropping it. An assistant is handy, but not required. Easy to do. Also balance the door while you're at it. It will help to save the new gear.
battmain is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 11:15 PM   #14
iagsxr
Senior Member
 
iagsxr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Location: Vinton, Iowa
Posts: 300
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

My local lumberyard has the kits. IIRC Chamberlan makes Craftsman and the kits are fairly universal. No biggy to install, def easier to me than a complete opener.

On the one I replaced I then realized that the door was grossly out of adjustment. That's what wrecks most of them. It was on a building I'd just gotten.

That opener's still funky. Something's wounded(motor/capacitor) from being overloaded. It doesn't get used that much so I haven't taken the time to figure it out.
iagsxr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-29-2010, 11:33 PM   #15
Ign
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Fruitland Coal Formation
Posts: 3,247
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

JUST went thru this w my Liftmaster. Wife pulled the opener, replaced the gear (kit) and put it back up.

It's still screwy tho. My local dealer helped me troubleshoot it, think it needs a new control board as it won't go down and self-reverses. Also shoots the trouble code for motor overload, but the springs are adjusted well. He said better to replace the whole unit than order a new board, but I'm gonna try to fix it.
Ign is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 05-19-2011, 10:31 PM   #16
BigAl62
Senior Member
 
BigAl62's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: suburbs of Chicago
Posts: 2,290
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

A little late, but I had the gears strip on my Craftsman garage door opener. Yes they are made by Chamberlain. I called the customer service line and the rep laughed at me! (It was my wife and I was giving her a hard time, I'm such a goof!) Get the model number off of the motor box and go onto www.searspartsdirect.com they can usually get the parts in about a week.
__________________
Stress: that confusion created when one's mind overrides the body's basic desire to choke the living crap out of some a**hole who desperately deserves it!
BigAl62 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 09:17 AM   #17
PeteW
Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 51
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

The top chain sprocket just broke off of my old opener and I ended up just replacing the whole thing since ours didn't have the safety sensors (and we have an 18month old) and Sears had a new opener kit on sale for $140 that included 2 remotes and a wireless keypad.

Each transmitter is around $30 and the keypad around $50. It all boiled down to us getting new transmitters and a keypad that we wanted and Sears was nice enough to throw in a new Opener, chain, and track for free.

Just another way to look at it.

I installed the new kit by reusing the opener brackets, replacing the header bracket for the track, and replacing the mount on the garage door itself. I also had to run the wire for the light sensors. I did the whole install without a second set of hands and it took me just under 3 hours.
PeteW is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 09:40 AM   #18
rsanter
Senior Member
 
rsanter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: visalia ca
Posts: 10,747
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

I just did mine
its a liftmaster as others have said and it is relitivly easy
my bushings were worn as well so I would recomend the slightly
more expensive kit that has those as well

bob
__________________
my wife says that I have never met a tool I havent liked. people on the other hand......
rsanter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-20-2011, 10:00 AM   #19
Jeff Ivers
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2010
Location: Oklahoma
Posts: 541
Default Re: Broken Gear in garage opener, should get new one?

I have an attached garage and a separate shop with a total of 4 rollup doors. Initially, only the attached garage had an opener. Twice, I have had the opener on the attached garage strip a gear. In both cases, I was in a hurry to get the door fixed since my wife could not raise the door manually. I replaced the opener and then got a kit and repaired the old opener and installed it in the shop. Now the point of the story is this. All 3 openers are of sufficiently different age that the 3-button remotes will only work on 1 opener. However, Chamberlain sells various receivers that can be used to convert an older or newer remote to an opener. So, I have a single 3 button remote in each vehicle that will activate any of the 3 doors.
Jeff Ivers is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is On

Forum Jump

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)


All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:29 PM.