Welcome to the The Garage Journal Board forums.

You are currently viewing our boards as a guest which gives you limited access to view most discussions and access our other features. By joining our free community you will have access to post topics, communicate privately with other members (PM), respond to polls, upload content and access many other special features. Registration is fast, simple and absolutely free so please, join our community today!

If you have any problems with the registration process or your account login, please contact contact us.

Go Back   The Garage Journal Board > The Garage > Free Parking

Sponsored Links (Register now to hide all advertisements)

Old 02-02-2011, 04:30 PM   #1
gtivr4

Default Snowblower runs rough and stalls under load

OK, I am a complete newb when it comes to small engines, so bear with me.

I bought a 10hp 28" snowblower this fall. It has a Tecumseh engine. Every time I have used it, it has been surging up and down, and can only run at full throttle. And now today it has been acting up, it stalls after running for a minute or two, and won't restart without running the electric starter. I just pulled the carb, and rebuilt it. It doesn't have any real adjustments that I can find (just one that controls the throttle). I've done some searching and its seems to be that its running lean (there is also a bit of flame coming out the exhaust from time to time). Some say its a spark plug (replaced that), gunky carb (rebuilt that), the governor (haven't checked that yet), or a clogged fuel line/filter (haven't checked that either)

Where do I go from here? Obviously not the best day to have a busted snow blower, luckily I was able to clear the driveway once.
gtivr4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-02-2011, 05:07 PM   #2
Skin

Default Re: Snowblower runs rough and stalls under load

newer emissions carb with no adjustable mixture needles?