To avoid these ads, REGISTER NOW!

Millermatic 211 - $750 on Ebay

edboyles

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 30, 2005
Messages
176
Location
DFW, TX
This seller has been selling some Millermatic 211's for $750 over the last couple of days.

It may be a scam but it is protected by Ebay. He did respnd to an email and is drop shipping the items.

It is a great price and they go quickly but buyer beware. I will let you know if I get mine. I half expect to get refunded by Ebay.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Millermatic...BI_Welders&hash=item4d0c336ec6#ht_1963wt_1170
 
To avoid these ads, REGISTER NOW!

skamp

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
644
Location
Cypress, TX
This seller has been selling some Millermatic 211's for $750 over the last couple of days.

It may be a scam but it is protected by Ebay. He did respnd to an email and is drop shipping the items.

It is a great price and they go quickly but buyer beware. I will let you know if I get mine. I half expect to get refunded by Ebay.

http://www.ebay.com/itm/Millermatic...BI_Welders&hash=item4d0c336ec6#ht_1963wt_1170

That is a very sick price. Wonder if it is legit.

Steve
 
OP
E

edboyles

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 30, 2005
Messages
176
Location
DFW, TX
It is almost too good to be true........but little risk with Ebay protection. It can result in some watsed time however.......I did some homework on Ebay protection and then went for it......
 
OP
E

edboyles

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 30, 2005
Messages
176
Location
DFW, TX
According to the seller, that is what he communicated via email. for that price, I can wait.......probably about $300 below the going price.....
 

srmofo

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 15, 2009
Messages
6,161
Location
SW ohio
hes got zero feedback as a seller.

I bet the account has been hacked by scammers
 

pipsters

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
4,899
Location
USA
He doesn't accept Paypal. Huge huge risk chances are you will never see your money or the 211. Sorry.
 
OP
E

edboyles

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 30, 2005
Messages
176
Location
DFW, TX
hes got zero feedback as a seller.

I bet the account has been hacked by scammers

That is the reason I said that I half exect to have to go through the refund hassle through Ebay......maybe I should say 90%....lol.......
 
OP
E

edboyles

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 30, 2005
Messages
176
Location
DFW, TX
Skrill is like Paypal and is protected by ebay. I checked before buying......Ebay lists Skrill as an authorized payment with protection.
 
Last edited:

pipsters

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 1, 2010
Messages
4,899
Location
USA
After further review that payment process is approved by eBay. So you are right, little risk I guess.
 
OP
E

edboyles

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 30, 2005
Messages
176
Location
DFW, TX
Skrill is a legitimate service....... although I had never heard of it before this auction....as I mentioned Buyer Beware .....
 

Rogue1987

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 13, 2011
Messages
891
Location
Missouri
So does anyone not think this is a scam?

And can anyone provide documentation from EBay that this payment type is backed by eBay's buyer protection policy? Something other than PayPal worries me but I could sure use a 211 at that price.!

Sent from a Braniff 707 via telex
 

BD1

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 18, 2007
Messages
4,602
Location
north side
My recently purchased 211 from local welding supplier was $1025.00. The lowest I found. I was told Miller had a price increase within the last couple of months. This machine is in the current rebate program, 15 % / 5%.
I wonder if you contact him and ask about the rebate program to seewhat he says.
http://www.millerwelds.com/landing/build-with-blue/
 
To avoid these ads, REGISTER NOW!

Wrenches of Death

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 1, 2011
Messages
730
Location
A red state.
I'm still not trusting this is legit.

Me either...but it's in my nature to be paranoid and generally pessimistic.

The fact that he has zero feedback as a seller and his feedback as a buyer is over a year old was enough for me to steer clear. And then out of the blue, he's got a half a dozen new millers to sell.

I just had a thought and checked out his completed auctions:

http://www.ebay.com/csc/95drsuebcm/m.html?LH_Complete=1&_ipg=50&_since=15&_sop=13&_rdc=1

He sure has sold a hell of a ,lot of them is the last few days, huh?

Ideas?

WoD
 
Last edited:

ishiboo

Well-known member
Joined
Oct 27, 2010
Messages
9,481
Location
Oshkosh, WI
Hacked accounts. The latest one has great feedback - until you see he has NEVER sold ANYTHING on eBay! It's all been purchases until suddenly he has several grand in new welders to sell. :p

Hope everyone is made whole by eBay.
 

skamp

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 20, 2007
Messages
644
Location
Cypress, TX
$939 on the miller web site. On sale with free shipping.

Well not exactly. To get the 15% rebate you need to purchase $150 of additional Miller or Hobart products on the same invoice. You can get the welder and additonal parts on Cyberweld for less. The welder comes out to like $913 and includes shipping.

Steve
 
OP
E

edboyles

Well-known member
Joined
Jul 30, 2005
Messages
176
Location
DFW, TX
Ebay has stepped in and removed all of his listings and closed auctions. They are processing credits.........I did get a shipment notification but do not expect anything to show up and am going through the processing.....
 

Amphicar770

Well-known member
Joined
Aug 27, 2008
Messages
135
Given last weeks incident, anyone stupid enough to bite deserves to lose every penny they send. If something appears to good to be true ...

If you really want a 211, wait for the next Zoro sale.
 

nine4gmc

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 24, 2012
Messages
14,357
Location
Dallas
Strouty, how have you maintained your post count here with all that ebay hacking you have been doing? :lol:
 
To avoid these ads, REGISTER NOW!
Top Bottom