To avoid these ads, REGISTER NOW!

Super cheap big toolboxes... a scam?

To avoid these ads, REGISTER NOW!

RCRGarage

Banned
Joined
Sep 17, 2012
Messages
178
Location
San Diego, CA
How many signs do you need?
Checked BBB, they're not on there, despite showing that they have an A++ rating on their website. Several words are mispelled, showing that English is not their first language, despite saying they're located in AR. They list no address, no phone number, no names. You have to pay via funny methods. The prices are too cheap. Tell me a GOOD reason to do business with them!
 

David W

Banned
Joined
Apr 4, 2011
Messages
1,353
Location
K.C. MO
I never heard of that retailer before but I have seen that big tool box advertised on CL for $500 before. A toolbox that tall and long and only 18" deep just seems to me like it would be extra prone to tipping over.
It is kind of strange that they don't take regular credit cards.
 

NoNN37

Well-known member
Joined
Sep 16, 2012
Messages
212
Location
So-CAL
they want you to use a giftcard so they can take the money without showing on your bank account.
 
OP
L

lowheat

Well-known member
Joined
May 7, 2012
Messages
61
Location
Stillwater, OKLAHOMA
I found them through craigslist ad. I figured it was a scam but was too tempted and inquired. This is the response I got...

Hello ,

Thank you for contacting OverstockClearanceSales. Please accept our
apologies for the delay in answering your email.

The product you requested more information is available for purchase on
our online store. This lowered price is a limited time offer & limited
stock, offer available until November 10th.

Visit http://www.overstockclearancesales.com/search.php?tag=Chests for
the inquired product & much more.

All orders above $400 receive a voucher for our White Gloves service,
voucher code name: Overstock

Everything we sell is brand new, under manufacturer's warranty, unless
otherwise specified.

Please read our F.A.Q (You will find all the necessary details regarding
shipping & delivery, pick up, returns, etc.) before placing any orders.

If you have any other questions don't hesitate to contact us by e-mail
or by using the contact form.

Thank you
Larry Anderson
OverstockClearanceSales
 

bobcatdan

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 4, 2011
Messages
9,948
Location
Kaukauna,WI
That box pops on CL from time to time and has been talked about in the past how it is all over the place.
 
To avoid these ads, REGISTER NOW!

balane

Well-known member
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
2,996
Location
Pacific Northwest
Not that it's any help but here's the whois info for that domain.

Registrant:
Ramer, Hollya
ATTN:
P.O. Box 430 c/o NameSecure
Herndon, VA. US 20171-430
Domain Name: OVERSTOCKCLEARANCESALES.COM
Administrative Contact:
Ramer, Hollya [email protected]
Hollya Ramer
ATTN:
P.O. Box 430 c/o NameSecure
Herndon, VA 20171-430
US
570-708-8782
 

Southern

Well-known member
Joined
Jan 27, 2012
Messages
242
They want you to pay with what is essentially a money-order in card form, which is the same thing as a wire transfer.

So someone links a site to sell you a freighted item through wire transfer only on craigslist.

Yes. It's a scam.

I'm glad you asked, but still a little surprised that you had to.
 

balane

Well-known member
Joined
May 4, 2011
Messages
2,996
Location
Pacific Northwest
The phone number on the whois info, 570-708-8782, when Googled, offers a wide range of scams on many different types of products. I wouldn't give them one cent of my money, that's for certain.
 

greasemonkey44

Well-known member
Joined
Mar 30, 2011
Messages
1,625
Location
memphis
im pretty sure that is a scam; everything is wrong
price is way too low
and
they want some crazy way to pay
and
their website just looks like a normal scam site
 
To avoid these ads, REGISTER NOW!
Top Bottom